Wayne Gretzky’s Been Traded! When’s he coming back?

I was five years old when Wayne Gretzky was traded from the Edmonton Oilers. I still remember quite vividly the shock of finding out. In my five year old mind, Gretzky and the Oilers in their bright blue and orange uniforms (though they were black and white on our TV) represented everything that was good and exciting in the world. For the first time in my life I had to come to grips, personally, with the problem of evil.

This morning I told my four year old son that 25 years ago today Wayne Gretzky was traded from the Oilers. His response:

Why? When’s he coming back?

I still ask myself that question. The pain doesn’t go away Joel. You just have to deal with it.

About Matthew J. Tuininga

Matthew J. Tuininga is the Assistant Professor of Moral Theology at Calvin Theological Seminary in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Posted on August 9, 2013, in Edmonton Oilers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Wayne Gretzky’s Been Traded! When’s he coming back?.

Comments are closed.

