Even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day …

I’ll be posting a little bit less content over the next couple weeks as a result of traveling and vacationing. However, I do hope to continue to put up regular posts.

This evening I am preaching on Psalm 139 at Trinity United Reformed Church in Caledonia, Michigan. Psalm 139 is one of the most comforting passages in all of Scripture.

If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me. If I say, ‘Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,’ even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for darkness is as light with you.

Like all people, Christians like to put on a good face when things aren’t going well. There is something about suffering and discouragement that shames us, especially in this land of the American dream. But sometimes we come through a week that has simply not gone well. Sometimes we do or say something that we are utterly ashamed of. Sometimes people take advantage of us in the worst way. For whatever reason, life falls apart.

At these times life can seem quite dark. The psalmist captures that emotion when he says that even the light around him has become dark. Yet if our life can devolve into darkness even under the best of circumstances, for God it is the opposite. “Even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day.”

David certainly wasn’t thinking of Jesus when he wrote these words, but that doesn’t change the fact that when the Son of God came in the flesh as the light of the world he provided the greatest evidence of God’s love in the midst of darkness the world has ever known. David marvels that God has crafted him with care in his mother’s womb, but Jesus tells us that he is like a shepherd who calls his sheep by name. Nothing and no one can pluck us out of the Father’s hand.

You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me … in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there were none of them.

Best of all, in Christ we can lay hold of David’s prayer knowing that it will be answered.

Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting!

Praise God for the Gospel of Christ.

About Matthew J. Tuininga

Matthew J. Tuininga is the Assistant Professor of Moral Theology at Calvin Theological Seminary in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Posted on June 3, 2012, in Sunday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day ….

Comments are closed.

