The Two Kingdoms and this Blog

The purpose of this blog is to serve as a way for me to discuss my reflections on public issues of concern to Christianity, both in the church and culturally, in the context of my studies in political theology. While I will discuss the tradition of Christian political theological reflection from time to time, much of what I post will simply draw attention to events, problems, and books and suggest ways of making sense of these matters. My aim is not to tell my readers what to think. Thoughtful Christians understand that there is no one who can claim the expertise to offer authoritative interpretations and evaluations of the complex events in the world around us. My hope, rather, is to offer reflections that serve as a guide, that point readers to the events and issues that matter, and that provides perspective informed by the Christian tradition. I welcome feedback. The purpose of this blog is to raise questions and provoke reflection, not function as an electronic pulpit.

My scholarly work focuses on John Calvin’s two kingdoms doctrine, and I work from within the context of the Reformed tradition as guided and corrected by Christian Scripture. Given that orientation, I owe it to my readers to provide a sense of what that tradition is all about. The following post will serve as such an introduction.

About Matthew J. Tuininga

Matthew J. Tuininga is the Assistant Professor of Moral Theology at Calvin Theological Seminary in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Posted on April 23, 2012, in Two Kingdoms and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The Two Kingdoms and this Blog.

Comments are closed.

